Amarante – Photo Gallery


In times not far away, the municipality of Amarante belonged administratively to the province of Minho, bordering the municipalities of Celorico de Basto (N), Gestaço (E), Gouveia (S) and Santa Cruz de Riba Tâmega (W).

With the liberal administrative reforms of the century. XIX disappeared the municipalities of Gouveia, Gestaço and Santa Cruz de Ribatâmega, and Amarante received most of its parishes.

Since then, the municipality extends over an area of 301.5 square kilometers, which today corresponds to 26 parishes, occupying a prominent position in the Douro-Tâmega region.


Leave a Response

twelve − eleven =

error: Content is protected !!