Azores: Places to visit


Lagoa das Sete Cidades

The Lagoa das Sete Cidades, located on the beautiful São Miguel Island, is one of the most famous places in the Azores Archipelago, and once it is understood, it is understood why.

This is the largest freshwater lake in the Azores, located in the volcanic craters that make up the Island. It consists of two lagoons (Lagoa Verde and Lagoa Azul), which promote a scenario of extreme and indescribable beauty and one of the symbolic images of the entire archipelago, classified as Protected Landscape of the Natura 2000 Network.

Angra do Heroísmo

The charming capital of beautiful Terceira Island, Angra do Heroísmo, has been classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO since 1983, full of beauty, history, monuments, cosmopolitanism, and a very unique environment.

Located to the south of Terceira Island in a small and beautiful bay, Angra has much to tell. This was the first city of the Archipelago of the Azores, elevated in 1534, already at the time a very important and influential locality, great point of trade and exchange and obligatory scale point in the transcontinental crossings, in search of the “New Worlds”.

Caldeirão do Corvo

The Corvo Cauldron corresponds to a collapsing boiler located at the top of the polygenetic volcano of the same name, which comprises the 17 km2 of Corvo Island.

The boiler is about 2.3 × 1.9 km in diameter, 305 m deep and its interior is occupied by slag and spatter cones and a pond.

Lagoa do Fogo

Located on the beautiful and verdant São Miguel Island, in the enchanting Azores Archipelago, Lagoa do Fogo is the second largest Lagoon of the Island of São Miguel, and also the highest, classified since 1974 as a Natural Reserve, such as its natural value and landscaping

Occupying about 1360 hectares, in the caldera of a dormant volcano that will have formed about 15,000 years ago, giving shape to the great volcanic massif of the Serra de Agua de Pau, Lagoa do Fogo enchants by its natural beauty and phenomenal dimension, arriving at reach 30 meters deep.

Ponta Delgada

Ponta Delgada is the beautiful administrative capital of the incredible Azores Archipelago, seat of the municipality and also the capital of the wonderful Island of São Miguel.

The dates of discovery of the Azores Archipelago are still unknown today, there are historical currents that claim to have been designated on Genovese maps since 1351, however it was from 1431 that the Islands began to be populated, with inhabitants coming from most of the regions the Algarve and the Alentejo.

Vinhas do Pico

The vineyard culture in Pico Island began at the end of the century. XV, when the settlement of the island began. Thanks to the volcanic soil, rich in nutrients, to the dry and warm microclimate of the slopes sheltered from the wind by walls of rough and dark stone and warmed by the rays of the sun, the vineyards of the verdant caste have achieved here exceptional conditions of maturation.

It was later exported to many countries in Europe and America, and even reached the table of the Russian court. The vineyards, which mark the landscape of the island, still produce a fresh, fruity, dry wine that is the ideal companion to a seafood or fish dish and also the wine of smell, whose presence is mandatory at the tables on feast days.

Natural Park of the Cauldrons

Situated in the beautiful Northeast region, in the heart of the island of São Miguel, Azores archipelago, mirroring the natural grandeur of this territory that enchants all that contemplates it.

This is one of the most sought-after places in the Northeastern region, offering profuse and very diverse vegetation, along with the clear and fresh waters of the Ribeira that promote beautiful waterfalls and the calm of a beautiful lake.

Islet of Vila Franca

Situated in front of the town of Vila Franca do Campo, about 1 km from the coast, this place is the result of the crater of an ancient submerged volcano, considering one of the main tourist attractions of the island of São Miguel, especially since it was held here one of the stages of the Red Bull Cliff Diving – the world championship of cliff diving.


Leave a Response

three + 8 =